Who Needs a Visa

Who needs to apply for a visa to Thailand?

  • Passport holders of countries that do not appear on the lists below are required to obtain a visa before entering Thailand.
  • Passport holders of any nationalities who are planning to stay in Thailand as tourists for longer than limited periods given below must obtain a tourist visa before entering Thailand.
  • Travellers entering Thailand for purposes other than tourism need a visa of specific type, such as a
    non-immigrant visa.


Tourist Visa Exemption please click here

Passport holders of the countries listed below are not required to obtain a visa when entering Thailand for tourism purposes and will be permitted to stay in Thailand for a period not exceeding 30 days on each visit. If such foreigners enter Thailand at immigration checkpoints, which border neighbouring countries (overland crossing), they will be allowed to stay for 15 days each time. The exemption to this is Malaysian nationals crossing overland from Malaysia who are granted a period of stay not exceeding 30 days each time.

Since 20 December 2013,Nationals of (G7) the following countries who enter via a land crossing or enter via an airport will be entitled to a 30 day visa exemption , UK, U.S.A, Canada, Italy, Germany, Japan, France

Foreigners who enter Thailand under this Tourist Visa Exemption category may only do so for 30 days at one time with a maximum of 3 times in a 6 month period. (Passport or travel document must be valid for at least 1 month after the date of first entry).

Foreigners entering Thailand under the Tourist Visa Exemption category must provide proof of adequate finances for the duration of stay in Thailand at the port of entry (i.e., traveller’s cheque or cash equivalent to 10,000 Baht per person and 20,000 Baht per family).

Foreigners entering Thailand by any means under the Tourist Visa Exemption category are required at the port of entry to have proof of onward travel (confirmed air, train, bus or boat tickets) to leave Thailand within 30 days of the arrival date (otherwise a tourist visa must be obtained).

Please note that Tourist Visa Exemption only applies to foreigners holding passports issued by the countries listed below. Travel documents for people from other countries issued by these countries are not acceptable.



 If you are not a passport holder of the above countries or you are going to Thailand for
purposes other than tourism, please
click here to see what type of visa you should apply for.


Thai visa for Certain Nationals from The Middle East, South Asia and East Asia please click here!!!


Newsletter:Thailand Focus